Month: November 2012

  • Ly and Nick’s family {November 2012}

    Some of my favorite moments from a recent session with Ly and Nick’s family. We did most of the shoot indoors with a portable backdrop and 580 EX-IIs triggered by Pocketwizards. I used a clamshell lighting setup (just like I did here) with a white shoot-through umbrella above the camera and a silver reflector below the lens. I lit the backdrop separately with another flash. Just before sunset, we made a quick trip to a local park (the same place we went to two years prior in this photoshoot) to grab some outdoor family photos, most of which I shot with my 70-200.

  • Lily and Paul’s family {October 2012}

    Some of my favorite moments from Lily and Paul’s family photoshoot in Villa Park…

  • Harbor-UCLA portraits {October 2012}

    Here are some of my favorite shots from the Department of Medicine’s annual picture day!

    The top two photos show the room before I set up for the shoot, and the bottom two show the final setup with the lighting and the backdrop. I decided to try out a clamshell lighting technique this year, using a translucent shoot-through umbrella directly above the face aimed towards the nose, with a silver reflector underneath the chin. I used a separate light bounced off a silver reflector to light the backdrop. I made a slight upgrade to the backdrop this year, using red velvet curtains from Home Depot. Once again, I shot tethered, this time with my 5D3 and my 70-200 f/2.8 IS.

    The full album can be viewed here.

  • APEX Gala {September 8, 2012}

    Here are some of my favorite moments from this year’s Asian Professional Exchange (APEX) gala celebration at the Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, featuring special honorees Far East Movement, emcees Aaron Takahashi and Jully Lee of Cold Tofu, and performers Vy Nguyen, David Lee, Ryan Fleming and Israel Waaahila.

    For more information on Asian Professional Exchange please visit www.apex.org.